http://www.cdc.gov/aging/han/action-briefs.htm

The link that I have provided is located on the Center for Disease Control and Prevention on Healthy Aging. I was surprised that I  came across this in the CDC website. I thought that this website would discuss treatment for certain disease and diagnoses such as dementia ,but I was not expecting for this webisite to provide important information regarding  older adults and their caregivers.  There are different tabs that are located in this website that include older adults and their caregivers which include resourceful articles,charts and other websites on death and dying.The main reason  I provided this link is that it discussed  preparing the caregivers during the dying process and after the older adult passes. In addition, they discuss  bereavement processes, medication coverage and care management .Understanding older adults medical concerns is essential for social workers care management when discussing the care of the patient to the family .
I think that this link is beneficial for any social worker working with older adults. This website provides a variety of topics that can be discussed the patient or the patient's family.  I think that this website would have been beneficial when I interned at Seasons Hospice. When i was an intern , I had limited resources . All I had was bereavement group information and it would have been important to understand the medical concerns.
I hope you find this website informative.




Lindsey Sheets
9/16/2013 11:21:25 am

Hi Ashley,
Great resource. I was checking out the CDC resource you mentioned. It was really interesting. I liked that it had a report for 2013 on aging and health in American. It can be a great way for social workers to stay up to date on whats going on with different populations.

Reply
Katie
9/16/2013 12:43:54 pm

Thank you so much for posting this site! I remember staff referencing the CDC for information in a particular situation where I worked before, but had no idea there were so many resources available here. Consider it bookmarked on my computer!

Reply



Leave a Reply.