I have to say that I have never heard this song before and I really enjoyed the lyrics.Even if you are not a fan of his work, listening to the Conversation Peace is really powerful. I think the title of the song sets up what he was intended  imply. He wanted people to listen to this song and get reactions from it.  By labeling a song “conversation peace” it can receive positive and negative reaction from different individuals interpreting the song.

A few lyrics I thought were powerful when I was listening to the song they were

We can't pause, watch and say "no" this can't be
“And we shouldn't act as if we don't hear nor see”
“All for one, one for all
There's no way we'll reach our greatest heights
Unless we heed the call
Me for you, you for me
There's no chance of world salvation
Less the conversation's peace”

I think the main idea is that we all need to join together and stand up to acknowledge that there needs to be change, and if we don’t things will stay the same.  Through faith and trusting in others is the only way we will get to that point to ultimate peace within.

 

Enjoli Harrington
9/29/2013 09:28:52 am

I agree with you. I think the key concept of the song is to become alliances for oppressed groups. joining together does not mean staying within in your own box. In order for us to have unity and promote justice we have to look beyond our comfort zone.

Reply



Leave a Reply.